“True friendship is a plant of slow growth, and must undergo and withstand the shocks of adversity, before it is entitled to the appellation.”

― George Washington

Often times I smile a secret smile when I hear the chatter of high schools students. The urgency of their relationships with their friends these kids have. Every student is an archetype for one of the characters on DeGrassi; each of their problems the thing that is stopping today.
Right now I’m attempting to force myself trying to recall was I like that? Did I act like the typical self important teen and if so, have I learned how to use that experience with others, with my students. I know there were some serious trials and tribulations in high school but they seem so long ago. I have a few journals (about like 15 maybe 20) but when I read back through them I feel disconnected from that kid. I feel like telling him “buck up buddy…these things you are going through are just training exercises.”
I set out wanting to write about friendships but I think that there’s nothing good to come down from examining from this angle. Maybe tomorrow’s prompt will be a better starter.
-Chester

