No Confidence In Them (subtitled I tried.)

The job assignment was for a few days. Couldn’t really turn down the opportunity to be a real teacher, to build rapport with students, to gossip and have chit chat with colleagues in the teacher salvation panic room and just be stable but not stationary.

The job assignment was English. Not common branches. There were no assignments or notes in the system, which is not any different than how it normally is. I did my research on InsideSchools.org, and I looked at similar schools in the area. I grabbed my lesson plan template, and looked at what other teachers across the nation had posted in reference to that age group. 6th grade for a week or so. Just girls. I coached myself to it, but knew that the only way to really know, would be after the first day there.

The morning of, I donned a tie and even considered wearing a blazer, or sports coat underneath my winter coat. Sure, I’d probably be burning alive on the train, and for the quick walk that I’d have to take, but all would be well.

As the third alarm of the morning shrieked from my phone, I became anxious. The third alarm is the proximity to the door alarm. The third alarm is meant to remind me that my bag should be packed, and that everything that i need better be in their because when that fourth alarm goes off, it’s all “GOOO.” As Lady MacBeth said to to MacBeth to encourage him to do something most would consider crazy, I know that the forth alarm is screaming “Screw thy courage to the sticking place.” (Just do the damn thing, yo.) And I got ready to leave, I realized that I had been the one screwed. The school address of the one to which I would report was different, and incredibly much farther than the one that I had anticipated going to. By about an hour and fifteen minutes.

The tie was in my pocket as I hurried to the subway, and pondered how I could make this mistake. The answer…..Easily I Hadn’t. The school which I reported to had been originally been something else. But for whatever reason they had that name taken from them because of performance and another school was publicly using it. The school of “Raving Girls who DOn’t Care” thought used the name in the system still because it sounds better than the school for “Raving Girls Who Don’t Care” and because of such they were able to still recruit people to come there. The payroll secretary shrugged her shoulders when I mentioned the mix-up and address in the system. She said she’d need to get around to it, but year afterwards is “C’mon, who are you fooling?> Especially when you meet the girls.

Part 2 is coming…..

